+ indicates Comment      

Article from TNU NOVEMBER 2023

RAC awards highlights motor racing intrigue

The winner of the tenth anniversary Royal Automobile Club Motoring Book of the Year Award is 'DRIVEN TO CRIME  - True stories of wrongdoing in motor racing' by Crispian Besley.

Besley’s intriguing book represented more than ten years of investigations and research, and lifts the lid on the various misdemeanours at all levels of motor sport. The book was a huge hit with all the judges and they were unanimous in crowning it their ultimate Motoring Book of the Year.

“The motor racing world is filled with stories involving drivers, team owners, manufacturers and sponsors behaving badly, and this fantastic book highlights the many cases that have made headlines in various ways”, said judge Christian Whitehead. “We Brits love a good true crime story, and this book was very hard to put down. Kidnapping, murder, drug-smuggling, robbery, cheating, corruption, punch-ups and downright dangerous driving are all represented well in this thoroughly researched book".  You will have to read it as to whether Chapman or Ecclestone are mentioned and sounds like the basis of a great film.

A press release notes that the motoring book industry is clearly in fine fettle, with a fantastic, record-breaking 56 books in the running to become the Royal Automobile Club’s Motoring Book of the Year.

Simon Taylor, one time Editor of Autosport and Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club Motoring Book of the Year Committee, said: “It’s been a bumper year for submissions, with 56 entries representing 36 publishers – from major houses to small independents and self-published authors. It’s been a delight to see such impressive and diverse titles across all categories, as well as so many debut authors. The judges had a healthy debate scrutinising each book for subject originality, writing style, depth of research, quality of illustrations and production before finalising the shortlist of contenders.”

As well as revealing the individual category winners on Wednesday 1 November, the Club also announced the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award to the world-renowned automotive historian and author Karl Ludvigsen for his significant contribution to the UK’s motoring book industry. With a parallel career in car design, manufacturing and racing, he also gave sage insight on today’s industry.

For the full awards do check the press release



Index/Home page


All comments are filtered to exclude any excesses but the Editor does not have to agree with what is being said. 200 words maximum

No one has commented yet, why don't you start the ball rolling?

Add your comment

First Name
Email Address
Company (Not obligatory)
You must be a registered subscriber using the email address entered to submit a comment, or you will be sent a confirmation email before your comment will appear. Your comment will be checked before appearing, which may take several working hours.

Travel News Update
20 Lodge Close, Edgware HA8 4RL, United Kingdom
+44 (0)20 8952 8383 / +44 (0)7973 210631
© 2023 Travel News Update Ltd